China’s Jiangsu Province announces pesticide production restriction, phasing out and prohibition polices, glyphosate and chlorpyrifos included

Posted on 2018-09-12
Recently, Jiangsu Province released an industry catalogue specifying regulations over the restriction, phasing out and prohibition of pesticide production. The catalogue included the restriction of a number of pesticide production facilities, pesticide products to be phased out and pesticide projects to be prohibited.
Production facilities to be restricted:
Technical upgrade of existing capacity or industry relocation are permitted. 
Pesticide production facilities to be restricted – production facility of high-toxic, high-residue pesticide technical and those that have a serious environmental impact, inclusive of omethoate, isocarbophos, isofenphos-methyl, phorate, terbufos, methidathion, methyl bromide, methomyl, aldicarb, carbofuran, diphacinone sodium salt, warfarin, brodifacoum, creotoxin, dimehypo, ethoprophos, endosulfan, aluminum phosphide, organochlorine, organotin pesticides and thiram fungicides, sodium nitrophenolate (potassium); production facilities producing glyphosate , chlorpyrifos, triazophos, paraquat, chlorothalonil, abamectin, imidacloprid and acetochlor (methylene method excepted)
Pesticide products to be phased out:
Productions to be phased out must not be built; such factories must be closed down; production facilities to be phased out should not be relocated elsewhere for continued service.
Products to be phased out include high-toxic and high-risk pesticides - benzex, dibromoethane, daminozide, nitrofen, chlordimeform, tetramine, fluoroacetamide, dibromochloropropane, sulfotep (Suhua 203), phosphamidon, fluoroacetamide, silatrane, methamidophos, parathion, parathion-methyl, monocrotophos, phosfolan (ethylthiophosphorus), asomate, urbacid, as well as all arsenic formulations, mercury formulations, lead formulations, glyphosate AS 10%, phosfolan-methyl, calcium phosphide, zinc phosphide, fenamiphos, fonofos, magnesium phosphide, cadusafos, coumaphos, sulfotep, terbufos and chloropicrin; pesticides to be phased out according to international convention - chlordane, heptachlor, methyl bromide, DDT, hexachlorobenzene, mirex, lindane, toxaphene, aldrin, dieldrin, endrin and dicofol.
Projects to be prohibited:
Projects to be prohibited must not be built; the existing capacity falling under prohibition is allowed to be technically upgraded to a certain limit, but expansion of capacity is prohibited.
Projects and pesticide products to be prohibited – new building of pesticide technical (chemical synthesis) factories; new launch of production of the pesticide products chlorsulfonon, imifloron, ethametsulfuron, triamiphos, pentachlorophenol (sodium), demeton and isazophos.



Source: AgroNews